Competition?

I struggled for a title for today’s blog. I’ve seen a trend, if one can call it that, where writers try to take down other writers/authors. I’m sorry, that’s not right.

We are all writers/authors and there is room for all of us. Yes, discoverability is hard, but other writers/authors are not your competition.

When new writers ask for advice or help, I’ve heard writings say, “No, sorry I don’t train my competition.” That is utter crap.

If all writers/authors felt this way there would never be new authors for readers and authors to discover. Our industry would grow stagnate and old. Writing conferences are held to help writers/authors learn, discover, and maybe even meet an agent or editor.

There is so much knowledge out in the romance world and I for one share what I can. I had published authors help me and I helped them by buying their books.

We are not competitors; we are partners in a business with room for everyone.

One thought on “Competition?

Leave a comment