Behind the Scenes

I have a home office where I write. It’s a nice room, I have a bed for my dogs in it. They curl up and sleep a lot of the time. If I’m on a zoom meeting they want to be seen on camera and beg for me to pick them up.

What most people don’t see is when I’m completely involved in a book, and that means writing or editing everything else gets ignored (not the dogs.) I let mail pile up and have to remember to pay bills. I toss stuff on my desk to look at later, and if I get a delivery that box stays in the entryway until I finish the book. Unless it’s something I need right away.

At the end of 2023 I took some time and cleaned my office. Six and half hours to clean off my desk, a side desk, the top of my file cabinet, and the file cabinet itself. I had stuff in my file cabinet from 2019. I still have no idea why. I don’t need it. So now I have it on my schedule at the end of each year to clean out the file cabinet and get rid of anything I don’t need.

How often do you clean out an office or a desk or a file cabinet or someplace where you toss stuff?

One thought on “Behind the Scenes

  1. I actually don’t like working in a cluttered area, so I have to clean my piles up before I can write, otherwise they sit there and mock me. Lol. As for clearing things out, it’s one of my January to-do’s, so we’re the same in that respect.

    Like

Leave a comment